Election Committee Notice of Certified Candidates for the February 12, 2023, Election

Thirteen candidates have been certified to run for six seats on Tribal Council. The seats of Councilman, Nelson Andrews, Jr., Councilwoman, Yvonne Frye Avant, Councilwoman, Winnie Graham, Councilwoman, Rita Pocknett, Councilman, Domingo Tiexeira and Councilman, Aaron Tobey will be up for election. The following candidates will be running for (re)election:

Councilwoman Edwina Johnson-Graham
Councilman Nelson Andrews, Jr.
Councilwoman Rita Gonsalves
Councilman Domingo Tiexeira
Winona Pocknett
Suzette Peters Mattis
Nitana Greendeer
Marlin Graham
Cecilia Martinez
Roxanne Mills
Steven Bingham, Jr.
Edward Avant
Fenton Soliz

The election will take place on Sunday, February 12, 2023. Polls will open at 1:00 PM for Elders and Disabled Tribal Members. Polls for all Tribal Members open at 2:00 PM and will close at 4:00 PM. The results of the Election will be posted at the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Community & Government Center, 483 Great Neck Road South, Mashpee, MA 02649 and on the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe official website on Monday, February 13, 2023.